The Sailor on the Seas of Fate

Michael Moorcock


Crossovers between an author’s most popular characters occur but rarely, with some of the most intriguing possibilities left untouched or else picked up by other writers practicing the form of literary pastiche. Arthur Conan Doyle never had the cerebral Sherlock Holmes consult on a case with the explosive Professor Challenger. Indeed, most authors avoided the idea entirely, or gave it remarkably short shrift. Robert E. Howard brought Bran Mak Morn and Kull of Valusia together briefly in “Kings of the Night.” C.L. Moore had her Jirel of Joiry meet up with Northwest Smith in one memorable story. But only Michael Moorcock had the genius and audacity to bring four of his major characters together in a full-length novel and then play the trump card that reveals the four characters to all be in effect, the same man as different spokes of the cosmic wheel, avatars of the Eternal Champion.
       In The Sailor on the Seas of Fate, Moorcock brings together Prince Corum Jhaelen Irsei, the Prince in the Scarlet Robe, (protagonist of six novels), Erekose, (the titular hero of The Eternal Champion and four other novels), Dorian Hawkmoon, (the lead of nine volumes which incorporate the two series, The History of the Runestaff and Chronicles of Castle Brass), with his lead character Elric of Melniboné. What we do have here, is the stripped down, essential Elric, with this being the third of the Essential Elric volumes, lavishly illustrated and finally presented in the sort of fine volumes that the work has always demanded.

These are archival editions, with gorgeous illustrations and featuring guest introductions from some of the top writers in the field. Each volume will be signed by the author, introducer and artists. Ordering the three books — Elric of Melniboné, The Fortress of the Pearl, and The Sailor on the Seas of Fate — via the “add to cart” button at right will secure all matching numbers for every book in the series.
      The complete contents pages of each book are shown below. The titles, contents, and order of the works appear, for the first time, exactly as Michael Moorcock has long intended, making these the most definitive sets of these books ever made available.
       The Sailor on the Seas of Fate includes the novel of the same name and two short stories: “The Dreaming City” and “A Portrait in Ivory.” It also has an introduction by Michael Chabon and new artwork by Richard Hescox.

Information on The Sailor on the Seas of Fate

  • Signed edition is limited to 300 copies, each signed by Michael Moorcock, Richard Hescox, and Michael Chabon.
  • Bound in full black cloth, stamped in three colors.
  • Color illustrations hand-tipped into the book with translucent overlays.
  • Introduction by Michael Chabon.
  • Oversize at 6½ × 9½ inches.
  • Gorgeous dustjacket.
  • Head and tail bands, ribbon marker.
  • Top-edge stain.
  • Original book price: $150.
  • Published December 2018.
  • ISBN 978-1-61347-218-7.