Code 666

Michael Reaves


The following text is taken from Joe Lansdale’s brilliant introduction to this book: “Michael is one of those guys who can not only edit, he can write, and write well. What he does best is write fiction, and I think short fiction is where he excels. This collection will prove that. It will also prove he can take old themes, ideas that have been used far too much, ideas that have been repeatedly run over by the trucks of time, and he can make them fresh. That’s why it’s so amazing to me that Michael hasn’t received more attention for his work. He certainly deserves it, and this collection should be a start in that direction, a way of organizing his fine output so readers can finally understand that a large number of amazing stories they may have read here and there, each quite different from the other, were written by the same author.
       Michael is this kind of writer. His stories come from a well of passion and excitement. It’s like the kid in him that grew up on comics and fiction and creepy movies and science fiction never aged, and books like this give a reader a feeling of touching on something beyond the norm; some magical door is opened and you are invited inside, where that which is fantastic is suddenly as real as water is wet. And then, when the experience is over, you walk out of that fantastic door knowing that where you have been is something beyond understanding.
       Michael Reaves is one of the few writers I have read in years who can do that. He transformed my world with his words, and I am happy to be bold enough to say this is one of the best collections of stories I have read in many a blue moon. I believe you will feel the same. Get comfortable. Dig in.

edition information

  • Limited to 200 copies, each signed by Michael Reaves, Joe R. Lansdale, Rodger Gerberding, and John Pelan.
  • Introduction by Joe R. Lansdale.
  • Original artwork by Rodger Gerberding.
  • Afterword by John Pelan.
  • Ribbon marker, head and tail bands.
  • Original book price: $50.
  • Published August 2015.
  • ISBN 978-1-61347-666-6.