The Fall of the Towers

Samuel R. Delany


First published as three separate volumes in 1963, 1964, and 1965, The Fall of the Towers is here republished as three distinct volumes, each with an individual dustjacket and new frontispiece artwork. This edition of the trilogy includes all of Delany’s afterwords and forewords, an illuminating new introduction by Michael Swanwick, and new artwork by David Ho.
       The volumes, entitled Out of the Dead City, The Towers of Toron, and City of a Thousand Suns, are oversize at 6½ × 10 inches, the same size as other titles in our science fiction series. The set comes with a clothbound slipcase.
       Samuel R. Delany (b. 1942) is an American author, professor and literary critic. His work includes fiction (especially science fiction), memoir, criticism, and essays on sexuality and society. His science fiction novels include Babel-17, The Einstein Intersection (both Nebula award winners), Nova, and Dhalgren. After winning four Nebula awards and two Hugo awards over the course of his career, Delany was inducted by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 2002. From January 2001 until his retirement in May 2015, he was a professor of English and Creative Writing at Temple University in Philadelphia.

edition information

  • Introduction by Michael Swanwick.
  • New artwork by David Ho.
  • Limited to 300 signed and numbered copies.
  • Signed by Samuel R. Delany, Michael Swanwick, and David Ho.
  • Three volumes in a handsome cloth slipcase.
  • Fully cloth bound, gorgeous dustjackets, printed endpapers, ribbon markers, head and tail bands.
  • Original book price: $150.
  • Published November 2016.
  • ISBN 978-1-61347-171-5.